Diamond Buying Guides

What to look for when buying a Diamond

There’s something magical about diamonds. They are admired around the world as symbols of love and purity. No two diamonds are a like. Each one has unique characteristics that make it sparkle in its own special way.

At the Warehouse we promise to supply our customers with the best quality for the price. We guarantee that all our diamonds meet or exceed all specifications listed on this website. All Diamond Jewellery over $500 come with a complimentary independent Valuation. These valuations are done by an independent company called Advance Gem Laboratory. Each valuation verifies the quality of your purchase and can be used for insurance purposes. They are valued at $95 each.

Each Diamond is valued according to the 4 c’s. Colour, Cut, Clarity and Carat. When you are looking at purchasing a diamond it is important to find out what the four C’s stand for as they determine the price of the diamond.

      • Colour
      • Clarity
      • Carat Weight
      • Cut



Diamond colours


A totally colourless diamond allows more light to pass through. The more light that passes through a diamond the greater the sparkle that diamond will have. Completely colourless diamonds are very rare and more expensive. Most diamonds have a slight tint of colour. The colour ranges from nearly colourless to light yellow.

Diamond colour grade chart



The natural imperfections in diamonds are called inclusions. Diamonds are formed deep within the earth, under extreme heat and pressure. Diamonds often contain unique ‘birthmarks.’ These birthmarks can be either internal (inclusions) or external (blemishes). The types of the inclusions determine the clarity of the diamond. Diamonds that have no inclusions will reflect more light and are very rare. Nearly all diamonds contain some type of inclusion or tiny birthmarks which make each stone unique. A key distinction in determining clarity between diamonds is whether the inclusions can be seen with the eye and diamonds with inclusions that cannot. Diamonds graded as SI2 and the I1 grades usually have inclusion visible to the naked eye.

Diamond clarity grades range from flawless (Fl) to heavily included. Between these ends of the spectrum are very, very small inclusions (VVS), very small inclusions (VS), small inclusions (SI) and included (I) grades.

Diamond clarity guide


The clarity grade a particular diamond is given is based on the size, nature, position, relief and number of inclusions with it. The clearer the diamond the more expensive the diamond will be.


Carat Weight

The weight of a diamond is measured in carats. Larger diamonds are rarer than small diamonds. A diamond’s value tends to increase very quickly the higher the carat weight. Larger diamonds are more desirable but occur less frequently in nature. However, diamonds of the same size and carat weight may vary widely in value and brilliance.

Diamond carat weight guide


A diamond comes in many different cuts. A precision-cut diamond with the correct proportions and angles is designed to give the maximum amount of light, brilliance, fire and therefore ultimate beauty.

The Cut of a diamond is the only quality variable directly affected by man. When a diamond is graded by cut it does not apply only to the overall shape of a diamond but also to how well it has been polish, the symmetry of facets and to the various angles and proportions of the diamond.

The most popular shape of diamond is the round brilliant. This is because of its perfect symmetry and sparkle. Diamonds are also available in pear, marquise, oval, heart and square shapes. These cuts are asymmetrical and as such have concentrations of sparkle. Another type of cut is the step cut where the facet shape is rectangular. Emerald and baguette cut diamonds are popular examples of the step cut.

The cut of a diamond is graded as one of the following:  Excellent - Very Good - Good - Fair - Poor